question

Sreedhar M. avatar image
Sreedhar M. asked ·

What is the diff between Manual deletion of High Resolution data & Auto Purge measures?

hi All,

We have recently partitioned our database after switching to X-large 96 Profile as it requires Partitioned Database. Mai know the differences between Maully Deletion of HIgh Resolution data & Auto purge measure during cleanup task.

pwh-1.pngpwh-2.png

How does they affect by enabling or disabling for a partitioned database.

Thanks,

Sree

7.0appmon 7databaseperformance warehouse
pwh-1.png (9.1 KiB)
pwh-2.png (9.2 KiB)
10 |2000000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 10 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 50.0 MiB each and 250.0 MiB total.

Peter K. avatar image
Peter K. answered ·

Hi Sree,

1. "Manually manage deletion of high resolution data" is mandatory when you have partitioning enabled. You mustn't switch it on if you don't have partitioning. In other words, check that box if and only if you have partitioning enabled. When checked on, it prevents the nightly clean-up task from deleting data from the high-res table.

2. "Auto purge measures during clean up task" is a choice that you have regarding our handling of splittings: The pwh schema has a large lookup table (called "dynamic_measure") that contains all the splittings of all the measures of your appmon system. This checkbox will make the clean-up task drop all splittings that haven't received data in 2 months (by default, linked to the mid-res retention time). These old splittings will therefore not be chartable anymore. If you choose to disable that checkbox, the dynamic_measure table will rgow indefinitely which may cause problems for larger installations with a high number of dynamic splittings, but you'll be able to chart all your historical splittings forever, even though they didn't get an update in months.

Best regards,

Peter

2 comments Share
10 |2000000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 10 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 50.0 MiB each and 250.0 MiB total.

Thanks Peter!

I have one query, for Auto purge you have mentioned below

" This checkbox will make the clean-up task drop all splittings that haven't received data in 2 months (by default, linked to the mid-res retention time) "

If we enable this checkbox does it delete low-res data? or only mid-res retention time?

Thanks,

Sree

0 Likes 0 · ·

I believe Peter is saying that the length of time a splitting must not have new data in order for it to be purged is equal to the duration you have set for mid resolution data. So if you have in your performance warehouse the medium resolution duration set at 3 months it will take 3 months where a dynamic measure has not recieved data before it is purged but when it is purged it is compltely removed including low res data.

https://www.dynatrace.com/support/doc/appmon/administration/server-administration/performance-warehouse/performance-warehouse-administration/

0 Likes 0 · ·
Trevor M. avatar image
Trevor M. answered ·

Hi Sree,

The mentioned check box should not delete low-res data.

If you are interested in retaining low res data, make sure you keep the Never purge low res... box checked. Otherwise, you can uncheck it and set a time frame to keep this data.

Trevor

1 comment Share
10 |2000000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 10 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 50.0 MiB each and 250.0 MiB total.

I'm pretty sure when the inactive dynamic measure splittings are purged this removes the entry completely including low res data.

0 Likes 0 · ·