question

Wai C. avatar image
0 Likes"
Wai C. asked ·

Join and form an Dynatrace Managed Cluster

If memory serves me right (couldn't find the screenshot or log anymore), during installation of Dynatrace Managed there is an option that goes something like "do you want to join a cluster".

If I chose the option to be 'n' back then, later on can I join a new server to this Managed Server to form cluster?

And if the answer is no, is there any way I can change the value to yes now?

Dynatrace Managedadministrationcmc
10 |2000000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 10 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 50.0 MiB each and 250.0 MiB total.

Wai C. avatar image
0 Likes"
Wai C. answered ·

So it means whether or not I choose 'yes' or 'no' during the installation in ABC, the XYZ would still be able to join the cluster?

· 1 · Share
10 |2000000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 10 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 50.0 MiB each and 250.0 MiB total.

Correct. At installation time it asks you whether you want to join an existing cluster. If you are installing the first node, you have to choose no. For other nodes, I'd use the installer downloaded from the cluster node (the one on the screenshot).

You could use the same installer as for the first node, but it would require you to specify tokens/etc... So it would be much more complicated. The installer downloaded from existing cluster node is already preconfigured and will join existing cluster automatically.

0 Likes 0 · ·
Joe H. avatar image
0 Likes"
Joe H. answered ·

Anytime you install a managed node, you get to choose if it's a new cluster (first node), or if this node will be joined to an existing cluster. If you install a node and choose to create a new cluster, you cannot later have that node join a previously existing cluster. To do that, you'll need to delete the standalone node, and reinstall.

· 2 · Share
10 |2000000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 10 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 50.0 MiB each and 250.0 MiB total.

Hi Joseph,

Thanks for the input. Maybe I should be more specific and clear:

0 Likes 0 · ·
morespecific.png (123.7 KiB)

You just run the installer on XYZ (with the installer downloaded from existing cluster) and the node will join automatically. The option during interactive install is only valid if you are installing from the plain downloaded installer from mission control. (e.g not using the installer downloaded from existing node).
You don't have to setup anything on a cluster node that already exists.

0 Likes 0 · ·