cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DDUs for AWS builtin metrics

tjay
Contributor

Hi, I'm a newbie here and would like to understand why the DDUs are different depending on the metric keys.

In Data Explorer I used the following (in advanced mode).

builtin:billing.ddu.metrics.byMetric:filter(and(or(eq("Metric Key","builtin:cloud.aws.dynamo.capacityUnits.consumed.write"),eq("Metric Key","builtin:cloud.aws.dynamo.capacityUnits.consumed.read"),eq("Metric Key","builtin:cloud.aws.dynamo.capacityUnits.write"),eq("Metric Key","builtin:cloud.aws.dynamo.capacityUnits.read"),eq("Metric Key","builtin:cloud.aws.dynamo.capacityUnits.provisioned.write"),eq("Metric Key","builtin:cloud.aws.dynamo.tables"),eq("Metric Key","builtin:cloud.aws.dynamo.capacityUnits.provisioned.read")))):splitBy("Metric Key"):sort(value(auto,descending)):limit(20)

The result is shown as attached. As you can see dynamo.tables shows 0.002 for a 10 minutes window. Does it mean the data point was checked only twice in 10 minutes? I thought it would check every minute. Should't each metric key have the same value? Note we hardly have custom built dashboards, queries yet.

AWS metrics are extracted by using a service - Amazon DynamoDB (built-in) without an ActiveGate instance. We use a SaaS solution.

3 REPLIES 3

victor_balbuena
Dynatrace Mentor
Dynatrace Mentor

I think the key here to understanding your data is your aggregation. In the attached image, are you using the default, avg or last aggregation? Because those aggregations would show the value only for one minute, which would make more sense. What you probably need to do is a sum aggregation, which gives you the total consumption for the time period you're looking at.