cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feeling overwhelmed

rgarzon1
Mentor

Am I the only one that feels overwhelmed?

I have been using and implementing Dynatrace for over 4 years, deploying agents, and dashboards, developing extensions, and integrating with many tools, always relying on intuitive and easy-to-understand features. However, recently I have felt lost.

I understand the need for transformation and adaptation to remain a leading tool in all areas, which is perfect. Sometimes it is necessary to step out of the comfort zone and break the mold, even if it seems challenging or difficult. However, comprehensive documentation usually mitigates the impact of such changes.

My current feelings are:

• I am unable to find sufficient documentation to perform even the simplest tasks with the new tools (e.g., creating dashboards with predefine titles, and specific Grail queries in notebooks I suppose that chatdql will help here but until it comes,  ).
  • Things have become less intuitive and less practical over time (e.g., handling tags, name of metrics, use of the API).
  • While combining multiple changes at once can be beneficial, it should be accompanied by a clear guide (DQL is excellent, but I struggle to fully utilize all its functions due to the lack of examples. For instance, extracting information like fetch time-series bizevents from the tenant is mentioned, but if I want to view management zones, I need to resort to the API, despite the ability to view management zones in hosts, I just try to do something with the SLOs and other "metrics" but still doesn't exist in DQL ).
  • Despite searching, I have been unable to find colleagues who are dealing with similar challenges or trying to learn in something like chat groups (discord, slack)
  • something so simple as the version of the tenant was easy to see and copy now I have to query on notebook