cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple text log monitoring

olegus
Contributor

I'm new to Dynatrace so bare with my dumb questions here 🙂

What I need is to make Dynatrace to watch a very simple log file in text format , check for a specific value and raise an alert if found.

So far I was able to specify a custom log source under a process that produces my logs but it seems Dynatrace does not want to monitor it. Why is that?

olegus_0-1694554049092.png

Also , I stumbled across log processing rules and I 'm struggling to create my own to simply find a word sequence there. All examples seems related to known logs from web servers like nginx /haproxy and includes some pretty complex data manipulation. Plus, It seems that logs should be in JSON format? At least that what's required for Rule Testing section..

I have a feeling that I've missing something obvious here - can you point me to the right direction how can I:

- add a text log file to Dynatrace

- add a rule to simply check for words "exit code XXX"

- raise an alert

13 REPLIES 13

natanael_mendes
Champion

Hey, you can use some rules to do this.

Check this documentation if you use classic v2

https://www.dynatrace.com/support/help/observe-and-explore/logs/log-monitoring/log-processing

Check this documentation if you use Grail

https://www.dynatrace.com/support/help/observe-and-explore/logs/log-management-and-analytics/lma-use...

Dynatrace Professional Certified

log.source= "/opt/oracle" AND (content="ORA-"). This is log source.  instead of searching for content, i want to search ORA- in the first line in the log only. How to do that

Mizső
DynaMight Leader
DynaMight Leader

Hi @olegus,

Could you please check my pervious posts about log monitoring.

Solved: List log files for a metric - Dynatrace Community

Solved: Application Log monitoring - Dynatrace Community

As a first step is to set the log collection: